Migrant

Image: ©️ John Patrick Flood

Since the beginning of time
I have wandered this planet
moving across its wide spaces
with my seasons’ changes,
finding home in connections
beside the hearth of strangers,
for a short while of succour,
of storytelling and feasting,
before moving on like the wind
to find a new resting place.
Leaving behind memories,
vague flickering images
on the wall of the cave
that danced in the firelight
and faded with dawn.
The path that I wander
stretches over distant ridges
and unfamiliar valleys
into unknown places,
whose silent call
I hear, deep in my bones,
to which my feet respond,
whether I will or not.

This day, I bless you,
for accompanying me
along this lonely stretch
as our paths run parallel
for this brief while.

©️🥀🐇
23 April 2021

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • My last 5 letters

  • Previous letters