Some words

Some words, when you first hear them,
play tunes on your bones,
run up and down your spine
and get entangled in your blood.

Some words, need not be spoken,
just scratched in the sand
or formed like smoke rings
that disappear with tide and wind.

Some words will always be written
in another’s language,
runes carved into stone,
hyroglifics that mesmerise.

Some words are best whispered
by a lover in the dead of night,
by a mother to her nursing child,
by the moon to earth.

Some words are sung loudly,
by birds in welcome to the dawn,
by rivers kissing stones and banks,
by children playing ancient games.

Some words offer a glimpse
into the mysteries that surround.
Silence kneads these words
into the bread of life.

6:1:22

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sheryl

     /  January 7, 2022

    Hi Tricia,

    I hope this finds you well and coping better with the cold weather than
    I do with the hot weather that has evenyually arrived in the Cape, very
    glad for the wind that tends to come with it cooling things down a bit.

    I have had a busy couple of days, despite my intentions of being ‘quiet
    and in the silence’, but will not complain, I really am Blessed.

    Had a lovely fishy lunch with M&M and ice cream and coffee at my flat
    afterwards

    I love your poetry and your ability to put such profound thoughts down
    on paper…or should that be in the ether?

    Thank you my friend for blessing us in this way.

    😘

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Sheryl, thank you so much for. It is great to hear your news, and that you are enjoying some cooler weather. It’s getting cold here! Love to you and M&M. xxx Sent from Mail for Windows From: My Italian Letters's BlogSent: 07 January 2022 17:07To: triciaheriz@gmail.comSubject: [My Italian Letters’s Blog] Comment: "Some words" 

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment

  • My last 5 letters

  • Previous letters